How children speak. Do they? – Michael Rosen

I’ve just read this article by Michael Rosen and I can’t agree more with what he says. Language doesn’t, and never has, fit in to ‘boxes’  or set patterns that apply to every situation. I watch my children communicate (aged 4 and 1) and I don’t think they ever use full sentences (the 1 year old, obviously not, but she has a range of about 70-80 words that she uses very accurately and flexibly), although my oldest is more than capable of speaking in full sentences. 

People seem to forget that spoken language is varied and doesn’t hold the same ‘conventions’ as written language (and there are variances in written conventions as well). 

How children speak. Do they? — Michael Rosen

There are a lot of misleading statements doing the rounds in connection with children’s spoken language. First of all, we need to remember that no one speaks in what the Secretary of State for Education calls ‘full sentences’. When we speak, we hesitate, interrupt ourselves (or each other), we speak over each other, we don’t…

via How children speak. Do they? — Michael Rosen

About sarahali

I am linguist working in the EFL field. I started my teaching career in East Germany in 1997, continuing for a while (7 years) in Austria before settling back in the UK, where I am now based. I have taught English in various forms (ESP, ESOL, Business English, EFL (general) and EAP) to students ranging from 3 years of age to 80. I have written, developed and edited teaching material and curricular for the Arabic speaking world, as well as African countries. I have also written materials and teacher's books for 3-year olds learning in multi-lingual schools in Spain and have worked on translating and adapting Early Readers for the international market. I'm currently a senior tutor for EAP, a TEL coordinator and an academic proofreader. I also work as a freelance materials writer and developer. I speak English, German and French, with a basic knowledge of Arabic and Spanish.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment