eBeam – the students’ perspective

At the end of the eBeam trial I asked students to (anonymously) write down what they thought of it.

Here are their responses (with permission):

“It’s not really neccessary, we can use it sometimes, but not each course. Sometimes it doesn’t work. We can use another way to activate classroom atmosphere. Maybe weekly we can use it.”

“It’s not really useful and nessary because that electronic pen soemtimes is not flexible. It could take long time to be ready for preparatory. There is a advantage which save resource. If that pen is flexible that could replace for the normal use.”

“Dear Teacher , I think it is very useful. Convenience our look at from broad.”

“I think it is useless and use it is very difficult”

“I think this pen is great fun. can adjust the classroom atmosphere”

“It doesn’t effect our study environment unuseful and useful is ok.”

“Tech-pen: unnecessary.”

“I think the equipment is not good because teacher is very difficult to use and not clearly.”

“I think it ok. Maybe not very useful in class but sometimes can help us and I  think it very facility when you writing something on screen.”

“I think this electricity equipment is useful. but teacher don’t have to write very beautifully and tidyly, we could understand your meaning. sometimes words are wrote badly, No problem, cause isn’t affected by them we could know it”

“I think the pen sometimes useful sometimes useless for the student”

“I think you don’t need this pen. It’s doesn’t matter.”

 

I find that the comments provide a very useful insight into how the students experienced eBeam and how they see it in regards to the class and what it adds (or detracts) from the atmosphere. It’s interesting that many of the students have focused on the pen in their feedback and not the activities. I’d be curious to see how the comments might change once I was able to write clearly and confidently with  the pen.

About sarahali

I am linguist working in the EFL field. I started my teaching career in East Germany in 1997, continuing for a while (7 years) in Austria before settling back in the UK, where I am now based. I have taught English in various forms (ESP, ESOL, Business English, EFL (general) and EAP) to students ranging from 3 years of age to 80. I am currently writing, developing and editing teaching material and curricular for the Arabic speaking world, as well as African countries. I'm also teaching EAP and proofreading academic essays. I speak English, German and French, with a basic knowledge of Arabic and Spanish.
This entry was posted in Reflections, research, Teaching, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

